How to make a quick & easy (part-upcycled!) key holder

We mentioned in an earlier post (Home Security Matters) that there are simple steps one can take to make sure your home is as safe & secure as possible. Something that used to regularly occur in my home was a result of being somewhat scatterbrained: losing my keys.keys.security
Misplacing ones keys at home may not sound particularly unsafe, but in fact, it does reduce the security of your home, and damages your vigilance & consistent habits in maintaining a safe living space. If you’re always losing your keys, are you likely to know which of your doors are locked or vulnerable? Will you be more prone to leaving security gates unlocked at night because you’re too tired to look for the keys? Keeping your home safe is more than buying the latest alarm system, but is made up of positive attitudes & routine behaviour – so that you’re not caught unawares.
I made a quick & easy key-holder out of things I had lying around at home. You can easily pop into a hardware store & buy all of these if you like, but it’s far more fun using junk & craft/DIY leftovers to make things (and, unlike me, you’re probably have a bit more creative talent!).
Remember: you can make this product really cheaply with a simple board, paint & hooks. Needn’t cost any more than R15, and you get to have fun making something a little original. Write messages on it, use newspaper clippings, make fun designs, etc. Security can be affordable!
Items I had:
Image1. wooden clipboard leftover from Winex (it was a nice thick board, and nearly the perfect size)
2. Glass tiles from an earlier (failed) craft project – about R30 from Builder’s warehouse for an entire block
3. Tile adhesive (thanks to dad’s building projects)
4. White acrylic paint (our landlady left this behind for touch-ups). You can use any paint & don’t need much.
5. Screw-in hooks (also left over by landlady – however, can be bought for under R10 for a box at any grocery store)
For the more creatively-inclined, get different colour paints, or instead of tiles use glass buttons, beads, real buttons, anything. Even just adding a lick of nice paint will do 🙂 Anything that fits in with your decor/style. I’m moving to a new apartment that is rather minimalistic, so I thought these plain glass tiles would work well.
Step one:
Prepare board.
I cut the piece of the Winex board with the hole off & lightly sanded/scraped the rough edges. I actually don’t know why I still have this clipboard at home, but after that visit to Winex, I’m not surprised that there are holes in my memory! This keyholder will be a constant reminder to use the spittoons more often at the next event.
upcycle.clipboard
Step 2:
Paint the board. This paint dries really quickly, and I only did 1 layer as I liked a bit more of a ‘rough’ look.
 Image
Step 3.Image
Cut out the desired number of tiles. The tiles are ready-glued to soft mesh fabric for larger installations, which can be easily cut. I cut mine into strips of 4 tiles as these fit on my board. I had a picture of myself cutting these, but was shocked to note that in photographs my hands look like a gnarly old wizard’s. So I won’t frighten you.
Step 4.
Apply tile adhesive to back of tiles. For those wanting a mosaic look, you can apply the adhesive directly to the board & then paste the tiles on top. However, I didn’t want any cement showing between the tiles, so I applied a layer carefully to the back of each tile using a plastic spoon. Remember to stir the tile cement well before using.
 Image
Step 5.
Stick tiles down carefully once paint has dried. For bits of adhesive that squeeze out of onto the sides of each tile as you’re sticking them down, use some strips of paper or something equally thin (e.g. a plastic knife) to remove it, as it’ll be hard to remove as it hardens.
Step 6.
Once everything’s dry (this took an hour or so), screw your hooks in. I did a TERRIBLE job of screwing them in straight, and this is a result of unyielding impatience. Don’t be like me. The wood was nice & soft, so it was easy to get the hooks in.
diy.key.holder
In total, the entire thing cost me 1/5 of a R30 decorative glass tile mat & a little bit of time (doing a little bit here and there as I did other work at home). What took the longest was waiting for paint & glue to dry. Be careful when attaching it to the wall – use a very strong adhesive to do this, as if it falls, your glass tiles are broken! Remember that keys will make it slightly heavier too.
Note: DON’T put the key-holder close to any door or window within easy reach from the outside. If you can, put them in a space that is not that visible from the outside at all. So make sure that the hooks are conveniently placed, but not easy to spy. Put only your regularly-used keys on this hook, and any others (e.g. spare keys) should be put away in a safe place out of sight entirely.
I was rather inexperienced at twisting the hooks in, so please excuse the slightly ‘sea-sick’ effect 🙂 The transparency of the glass tiles also does not display as clearly as it could in this image, and I’ll take a daytime image to show just how nifty it looks when the light hits the glass. Now to have it mounted in my new place.
Have fun & stay safe!
4 thoughts on “How to make a quick & easy (part-upcycled!) key holder

  1. I love this idea. I will try it. By the way, I would have love to be able to send it to my sisters and myself through email. Do you know you could add it. Anyway, thanks so much for sharing this project 😀

  2. Pingback: InvisiBars 30 second Promo – that’s some swish security! « Home Security Blog

Leave a Reply

